Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Subtract from Workpiece problem

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Johannesburg
    Posts
    261

    Default Subtract from Workpiece problem

    Having succesfully used the Subtract from Workpiece button with great joy ... it stopped working without warning

    Any idea how to correct this?

    Anyone else have this problem?

    The pieces to be deducted are in the RH room as grey blocks in the wall.
    They are the very same construction as all the others, an extruded rectangle.

    Any help appreciated.
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Ignorance is fixable - Stupidity is not!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Forgan, Fife, Scotland
    Posts
    190

    Default A couple of thoughts

    Quote Originally Posted by C Van Hoof View Post
    Having succesfully used the Subtract from Workpiece button with great joy ... it stopped working without warning

    Any idea how to correct this?

    Anyone else have this problem?

    The pieces to be deducted are in the RH room as grey blocks in the wall.
    They are the very same construction as all the others, an extruded rectangle.

    Any help appreciated.
    Two possibilities.

    Check that the grey blocks are actually penetrating the wall and not just sitting alongside this.

    If that is the case, Save the work, exit MicroGDS. Restart and try again.

    I hope that this helps.
    Running Windows on Apple computers using VMWare Fusion reduces stress and makes for a more pleasant computing experience

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Johannesburg
    Posts
    261

    Default

    Thank you for your input ... but it does not subtract.

    Both are the same linestyle, but they don't want to co-operate.

    Is there a history of keystrokes or something somewhere that should delete or such maybe?

    thanks for the attention tho!
    Last edited by C Van Hoof; 14th February 2013 at 15:02. Reason: additional info
    Ignorance is fixable - Stupidity is not!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Johannesburg
    Posts
    261

    Default

    Appears that i cannot subtract anything from the walls any more ...

    Is there a limit to the number of items you can subtract?

    Or must i start making "Objects" ... i eas going to do that when the wall structure was complete.

    Any advice apperciated, please.
    Ignorance is fixable - Stupidity is not!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Forgan, Fife, Scotland
    Posts
    190

    Default Email me the drawing, please

    Quote Originally Posted by C Van Hoof View Post
    Appears that i cannot subtract anything from the walls any more ...

    Is there a limit to the number of items you can subtract?

    Or must i start making "Objects" ... i eas going to do that when the wall structure was complete.

    Any advice apperciated, please.
    Chris,

    Please email me the drawing and I will have a look at it for you. Guessing could become quite frustrating for both of us.

    DakersFleming@me.com
    Running Windows on Apple computers using VMWare Fusion reduces stress and makes for a more pleasant computing experience

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Johannesburg
    Posts
    261

    Default

    Most appreciated!!!!

    Thank you!

    cvh
    Ignorance is fixable - Stupidity is not!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Johannesburg
    Posts
    261

    Default

    Just to help those reading this topic and wondering!

    Thanks to Dakers Fleming for perusing my drawing!
    He noted that there were some "open Mesh" items lurking in there.

    The suggestion was to redo the base and see how that panned out

    Took me all of an hour to redo the basic structure and i could replicat the problem ;0
    But this time i was watching for this.

    The main issue seems to be when you start cutting the basic big block into various levels by using the subtract command.
    The problem arising where you have cutouts on the edge of a level difference.

    In this case i separated the various different height blocks and constructed them individually.
    When joining these, no problems were encountered. problem solved.

    Surprise that this reappeared when using the "punch hole" method from the plan to create individual rooms.

    The issue seems to be created when you "punch hole" on a wall where you have different heights.
    You can overcome this by moving edge of the hole to be punched say 20mm away from the different height wall, punch the hole and "move face" that part back into its intended position.

    just thought i'd let you all know

    Have a super productive day
    Last edited by C Van Hoof; 21st February 2013 at 08:25.
    Ignorance is fixable - Stupidity is not!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may edit your posts
  •